Databases

 

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A

Academic Search Complete

Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications.

Adult Learning Center (Learning Express)

Offers busy adults the resources to improve their basic skills in reading, writing, and math, prepare for the GED® test, or become a U.S. citizen.

AGRICOLA

Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, this source provides access to millions of agricultural citations.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information.

Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

America's Obituaries & Death Notices

Full-text obituaries and death notices by name, date, or keyword.

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.

American West

Through a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources, American West is a dynamic teaching and research resource.

Ancestry.com (Library Access Only)

Over 4 billion records: census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.

Audiobook Cloud

Unlimited access to audiobooks, all the time. Just click and listen.

B

Bibliography of Native North Americans

This bibliographic database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life including a wide range of topics.

Biblioteca Tumblebook

TumbleBooks son libros animados, con ilustraciones que hablan,para enseñar a los niños más pequeños.

Book Review Digest Plus

Book Review Digest Plus is an essential library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources.

Brainfuse Tutoring

Available from home for teen AISD students, all students can access online tutoring at any Arlington Public Library location.

Britannica Compare Countries

A unique geography tool that gives you quick facts on any two countries side-by-side.

Britannica Enciclopedia Moderna

Enciclopedia Moderna Britannica incluye más de 50.000 artículos de la enciclopedia.

Britannica Online Public Library Edition

Contains encyclopedias for three different age groups, along with magazine articles, homework help, atlas, dictionaries and thesauri, and video and audio content.

Business Abstracts & Full-Text

Full-text articles, and access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, statistical rankings and more.

Business Source Complete

Full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

Business Videos

Over 50 Harvard Faculty Seminar Videos available in Enhanced Business Search. A complete list of videos is available.

C

Company Information

Provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.

Computer Source

Latest information & current trends in high technology.

Contemporary Authors

Biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 130,000 U.S. and international authors.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select

Essays on over 800 contemporary authors and their works, with further information for study.

Country Fact Sheets

Fact Sheets that focus on U.S. relations with each country.

D

Dear Reader

Read the latest books in your email with our Online Book Clubs.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential figures from all years and genres.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas.

E

ebrary eBooks - Public Library Complete *NEW*

A searchable collection of more than 30,000 eBooks (5,000+ in Spanish) from trusted publishers. Ideal for school, research projects, & everyday information needs. ebrary QuickStart Guide  PDF, 1.1 MB

EBSCOhost - eBooks

eBooks on many topics including history, hobbies, and scholarly research.

EBSCOhost

Search a wide variety of databases.

Economia y Negocios

More than 330 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals.

Enhanced Business Search

Includes company and industry profiles, market research reports, and business videos.

ERIC

World's largest digital library of education literature.

Essay & General Literature Index

Cites records in collections of essays and works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.

F

Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Full text articles from 1990 to present.

Foundation Center — Funding Information Network (Central Library Only)

The premier resource for locating in-depth information about grantsmakers and their grants.

Fuente Academica

Scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Over 25,000 encyclopedic general information entries.

G

GaleGroup Databases

Search a variety of databases.

Gale Literature Databases

Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and Dictionary of Literary Biography.

GreenFILE

Global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainability, renewable energy, and more.

H

Handbook of Texas

A multidisciplinary encyclopedia on virtually every aspect of Texas history, geography, and culture.

Health Reference Center Academic

General interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, and reference books.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Full text for nearly 300 consumer health periodicals.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

HeritageQuest Online

Includes the U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1930, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), the Revolutionary War Pension Applications and Bounty Land Warrant Applications, and the Freedman's Bank Records.

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center *NEW*

Offers "how-to" instructions for virtually every hobby enthusiast with full text for more than 1,500 leading hobby books and craft magazines.

Home Improvement Reference Center *NEW*

Provides users with user-friendly “how-to” information covering a range of home improvement and repair projects.

Household Products Database

What's under your kitchen sink, in your garage, in your bathroom, and on the shelves in your laundry room?

Humanities Full-Text

Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama and poetry.

I

Image Collection

This collection offers students instant access to over 960,000 worldly images relating to people, natural science, places, history, maps and flags. User can access the Image Collection by clicking on Images along the top toolbar on the EBSCOhost screen.

Information Science & Technology

Classification, information retrieval, information management, search engines, and more.

Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts

Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development, reviews and more.

J

Job & Career Accelerator

Search over five million up-to-the-minute local and national job postings, create professional resumes and cover letters, and practice interviewing skills.

K

Kids Search

Provides elementary school students with an easy-to-use, graphically-appealing interface they can use to search their EBSCO databases.

L

LearningExpress 3.0 *NEW*

Improve your basic skills; Math, reading, and writing tutorials; Learn about in-demand careers; Prepare for occupational exams; ACT®, SAT*, AP* test preparation; Prepare for the GED® test ...and much more!

Legal Collection

The discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, and federal law.

Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Literary Reference Center

Provides information on thousands of authors and their works through an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries, poems, short stories, author interviews and more.

Literature Resource Center with Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors Series

Discussions of more than 130,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers such as philosophers, filmmakers, and anthropologists.

M

Mango® Languages

Mango® Languages teaches with real-life situations and actual conversations. There are courses for 45 languages as well as English-language courses presented in 15 of the world's most commonly spoken languages.

MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines)

Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Includes many popular magazines, such as Consumer Reports, Rolling Stone, Newsweek, and more.

MAS Ultra: School Edition

More than 700 popular general interest & current events publications with information dating as far back as 1975.

MedicLatina

A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.

MEDLINE

Search the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Medline Plus

Health information from the National Library of Medicine.

Middle Search Plus

Index, abstracts, and full text for popular middle school magazines.

Military & Government Collection

Full text from over 330 military and general interest publications.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Get comprehensive financial information on stocks, mutual funds, exchange traded funds, and use portfolio tools and calculators to determine what your asset mix should be.

N

Natural & Alternative Treatments

Information on herbs and supplements, functional foods, and other alternative therapies such as acupuncture and homeopathy.

Newspaper Source

Selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also full text TV and radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional newspapers.

O

OneClick

Online Audiobooks from Recorded Books. Titles may also be searched via our online catalog.

OverDrive

eBooks and eAudiobooks. Titles may also be searched via our online catalog.

P

Play Index

Covers over 31,000 classic and historical plays dating from 1949, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from famous playwrights.

Primary Search

Full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines.

Professional Development Collection

A specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators.

PubMed (Mobile Version)

More than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

R

ReferenceUSA

Real-time access to more than 20 Million Businesses, 222 Million Consumers, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. New Homeowners & Movers.

Regional Business News

Full text for more than 50 regional business publications.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

S

Salud en Español

Provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness.

Science & Technology Collection

Aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.

Scribner Writers Online

Features nearly 2,200 biographical and critical essays on over 1,400 important writers from around the world, often from multiple viewpoints to provide differing perspectives.

Searchasaurus

Searchasaurus is an exciting and easy way for young researchers to experience online searching. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies.

Serials Directory

This database provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.

Short Story Index

Contains information on short stories by author or genre, and provides detailed indexing for more than 117,000 stories from more than 4,200 collections and anthologies.

Small Business Reference Cente

Contains more than 450 full-text reference books and nearly 400 full-text periodicals that provide detailed “how-to” instructions to address small business topics.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center *NEW*

Provides repair guides for small engines and routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly).

Student Research Center

Provides a safe, trustworthy environment for students to look up articles and facts for class projects or everyday studies.

T

Teacher Reference Center Index

Topics include assessment, best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, and more.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

More than 660,000 large-scale maps of over 12,000 American towns and cities from 1867-1960.

Texas Heritage Online

A search portal for Texas libraries, archives, and museums with digital collections of cultural heritage materials.

Texas Reference Center

Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure.

TexShare

Search Texas State Library for books and articles.

THOMAS Legislative Information

Federal legislative information freely available to the public.

TOPICsearch

Explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.

Tuition Funding Sources

TFS offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 Billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and career information.

Tumblebook Cloud

Allows you to listen to audiobooks in your browser with just a click of a button.

Tumblebook Cloud Jr.

Designed specifically for elementary and middle school kids, an online collection of eBooks and read-along chapter books, graphic novels, educational videos, and audio books.

Tumblebook Library

A collection of animated, talking picture books, created from existing picture books licensed from children's book publishers.

Twayne's Authors Online

Literary critical interpretation of approximately 600 authors, along with the content of 600 books taken from the series United State Authors, World Authors and English Authors. Content is cross-searchable with Literature Resource Center and available in eBook format in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

20th-Century American Poetry

This unparalleled collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.

20th-Century English Poetry

A collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.

V

Vocational and Career Collection

Index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.

W

World Book

Includes encyclopedia, as well as social studies and science for classrooms. World Book Digital Libraries offer an online, interactive complement to World Book’s newest print reference sets: Early Peoples, Living Green, and Inventions and Discoveries.

Worldcat (home access)

The world's largest online catalog of books and magazines. Includes a description of the item and which libraries own the item.

World History Collection

Historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, and regional issues.

World Vital Records

Z

Zinio

Over 100 subscriptions to popular and specialty magazines delivered by the world’s largest digital newsstand, with full color magazines – identical to the print edition.