Share this:

Genealogy and History

Guide Curator

Linda S

Linda S.

Email, 817-459-6900

Got ideas?

Suggest an item for this guide

Staff Picks

Materials in our Collection

Databases

America's Obituaries & Death Notices

Records from hundreds of newspapers nationwide.

Ancestry.com (Library Access Only)

Over 4 billion records: census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

More than 110,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.

Digital Public Library of America

Far more than a search engine, the portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, format, and topic.

Handbook of Texas

A multidisciplinary encyclopedia on virtually every aspect of Texas history, geography, and culture.

HeritageQuest Online

Includes the U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1930, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), the Revolutionary War Pension Applications and Bounty Land Warrant Applications, and the Freedman's Bank Records

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

More than 660,000 large-scale maps of over 12,000 American towns and cities from 1867-1960.

Texas Heritage Online

A search portal for Texas libraries, archives, and museums with digital collections of cultural heritage materials.

Texas Reference Center

Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure.

World History Collection

Historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, and regional issues.

Magazines & Newspapers

Community Resources

Arlington Genealogical Society

The Arlington Genealogical Society meets the second Tuesday of the months September through June at 6:30 p.m. in the Arlington Public Library Community Room. 101 East Abram St. 

National Archives Southwest Region

The archives include extensive microfilm and archival holdings for genealogy research. An index of materials is available online.
2600 W. 7th St. Suite 162, Fort Worth, TX 76115, 817-831-5620.

Family History Center - Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

One of many centers around the world that offer free information and resources for the beginner.
3809 Curt Dr., Arlington, TX 76016, 817-446-7088

Websites

General Genealogy

Cemetery Records

Arlington Cemetery
African American Cemeteries Online
Cemetery Junction
FindaGrave.com
Gravestone Studies
Internment.net

Census Records

For complete access to the U.S. Census before 1930, check out our HeritageQuest and Ancestry databases.

Census Links
Census Online
Census Project
NARA 1940 Census

Colonial Ancestry

America's First Families
Jamestowne Genealogy

Ethnic Genealogy

AfriGeneas: African Ancestored Genealogy
Cherokee Heritage Center
German Genealogy
Jewish Genealogy
Latin American Ancestors Guide
Nativeweb

Land Records

Bureau of Land Management General Land Office Records
Texas General Land Office

Military Records

Civil War Rosters
Civil War Soldiers & Sailors
U.S. Navy History
The Wall on the Web
WWII Navy Armed Guard & Merchant Marine

Obituaries

Arlington Obituaries 1901-1920
Legacy.com

Search obituaries from the past two weeks for free from more than 800 newspapers in the U.S. and around the world. 

Ship Passenger Lists

Ellis Island Database
Passenger Lists,1820-1940
Port of Galveston, 1846-1948
U.S. Ports of Arrival, 1820-1957

Texas Genealogy

Alamo Descendants
Lone Star Genealogy
Portal to Texas History

Contains the Arlington Public Library and Fielder House photo collection.

Texas GenWeb Project
Texas Heritage Online
Texas State Library Genealogy Collection

Vital Records

Social Security Death Index
Texas Vital Statistics
Where to search for Vital Records in the U.S.