Library Ninja: Teen Reviews

Share Your Musical Passion!

Last week at the Studio, we recorded our thoughts on some of our favorite songs. We each had different tastes, ranging from Frozen's "Let It Go" to J Moss's "Good & Bad". What we had in common, though, was an excitement to share our passion for these great songs!

We used the free software, Audacity, to record and add music clips to our reviews. Listen in on these two podcasts from the program! Then leave a comment on your favorite song!

Pompeii

A review of Bastille's "Pompeii." Get ready to have the chorus stuck in your head!

Nugget the DJ

"Nugget" also visited the Studio to give us the scoop on his latest original electronic music.

4/4/2014 by Catherine W. 1 Comment - Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Music, Teen Reviews

Teen Review by Christopher K... The Adoration Of Jenna Fox

Jenna Fox was only sixteen when she got into the car accident that changed her whole life. She had just woken up wondering, wondering what happened just before all of this. The truth unfolds in this wonderful book by Mary Pearson! Jenna goes through a life of questions,answers, and thoughts of what was wrong. Suddenly she found out! I liked this book because it was full of suspense and mystery, and I could not put it down for the life of me! I liked following Jenna's life, and was wondering exactly with the book one what happened to Jenna in the first place and two why are the parents not worried? I would suggest this to everyone I knew no matter what genre they enjoy, or despise! You will fall in love with this book as you start getting into it, and reading!

My favorite character was Lily because she helped Jenna through all of the questions, and other things while she was going through all of her life in these few weeks. She was truly an inspiration to Jenna before the accident, and shortly after woke up from coma. This book was truly heart wrenching, and would recommend it to everyone! I have no dislike of characters in this book because they all help Jenna with her worries, and life as she goes through the new one! This is definitely a goodread! Pick it up at your local library soon!

Other books in the series

Other books you may enjoy

4/4/2014 by Library Ninja Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Books, Teen Reviews

Teen Review by Katie... Animal Farm

Yes, I know, George Orwell’s Animal Farm is on your least-favorite English teacher’s list of “Books That I Won’t Make You Read, But You Need to Read or You Will Fail English Forever”. It’s mashed in with all of those thick, dusty classics… but (trust me on this), Animal Farm is really a timeless look on rebellions against tyrants and the flaws in powerful positions. Sound like any dystopian novels you’ve been checking into lately?

Animals running their own farm—ridiculous! Or, maybe not. Farmer Jones—the owner of the Manor Farm—spends his time either stumbling around drunk or using a cruel whip against his mistreated farm animals. Little does he know that the animals have formed an alliance under the guidance of Old Major, a prize boar who dreams of the future days when animals will chase the humans out of England and live in everlasting peace together. The moved creatures talk of rebellions and how they will never live like the tyrannical men who beat them; they hope to keep the spark of revolution alive to pass it onto the next generations, and that maybe, someday, there will be an uprising. The animal rebellion comes sooner than then our heroes assume—when opportunity arises, they take it: Jones is chased out and Manor Farm becomes Animal Farm. Everything is looking up, but soon the newly-arisen leaders of Animal Farm develop an addiction to power. Will new tyrants rise? Will the animals stand strong against the hardships they face? Will Old Major’s dream be realized? I’m not going to tell you; go read it yourself!

Other books you may enjoy

3/27/2014 by Library Ninja Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Books, Teen Reviews

Teen Review by Christopher... Fablehaven

This book was absolutely the best fantasy book I have read!

Brandon Mull is a wonderful author, and I hope to read more of his books, as this one made me satisfied with his work! I would recommend it to anyone I know!

The thing that really struck my interest was the cover and synopsis of this particular book! This book is about hidden refuge called Fablehaven where their were creatures that you saw, but really did not see, and you will see why when you read this wonderful book! Anyways, Kendra and her brother Seth go to Fablehaven to stay with their grandpa. Alot of ad venture in this book, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Fantasy, mythical creatures, and adventure!

I really like Fablehaven because it has a wonderful story plot, and adventures through out this wild book! My favorite character is Seth because he can be mischievous at times, and rebellious to the rules, and such. My least favorite character is Muriel because she is trying to make their visit to their grandpas miserable as can be! I hope you give this book a chance as it is really a wonderful book!

Other books in the series

Other books you may enjoy

3/14/2014 by Library Ninja Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Teen Reviews

Teen Review by Katie... The Last Free Cat

Today’s novels have images of girls wielding bows, boys brandishing guns, sci-fi tech and plots to overthrow the government racing through our brains at the mention of the words dystopian society. Get ready for a twist: In The Last Free Cat, Jon Blake offers a fresh, new look on the idea of an over-controlling society and what freedom is worth.

The reasons Jade and her mother obediently follow their government’s laws are built around logical explanations: all of the “free” cats (one’s not born and bred by a major company and bought for millions of dollars by rich members of the society) carry a deadly virus that could kill a human in a blink. If the government hadn’t stepped in and created the laws that outlawed cats, more than half of the population would be dead by the cat flu. Right?

Maybe not. Jade has always thought so until Feela, a beautiful calico, wanders into her yard and her life is flipped upside down. A couple of crazy twists and action scenes later, Jade is on the run with Feela and a schoolmate, Kris, who is strangely knowledgeable about cats. As Jade fights for her cat’s freedom, the wool is slowly pulled out from over her eyes and she begins to understand that what she sees is not necessarily the whole truth, and the truth she finds is worth fighting for.

Although I felt that some of the characters were frustrating (but where would we be without frustrating characters?), The Last Free Cat is a short, sweet read that will have your brain moving long after you’ve reached the last period.

Other books you may enjoy

2/20/2014 by Library Ninja Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Teen Reviews

Teen Review by Melissa S... In Too Deep

When I first picked up this book by Coert Voorhees at a giveaway my book club had last year, I must admit the cover is what pulled me in. The skull made of sand and the scuba diver on the front got me to wonder what such a book could be about. I read the synopsis, and it seemed interesting enough, so I took it. And I wasn't disappointed upon reading it.

Once you open the book to the front page, you dive into the life of Annie Fleet, master scuba diver and total history nerd. Her dad being a teacher doesn't help her status either. When you add the fact her crush thinks her as "adorable" over "desirable", Annie's life looks as if it's going to hit it's lowest soon. So, it's easy enough to see why she would want to change it.

When Annie is to take a community service trip to Mexico, this may be her chance to prove her crush, Josh, and everyone else wrong about her. Things start to look up for Annie. Except for one thing: her teacher's alternate agenda. Suddenly, Annie is pulled into a world of pitch-black waters, horrible betrayals, and lives at stake as this teen helps search for one of the world's most priceless possessions: the Golden Jaguar. In deeper danger than she had ever thought possible, can Annie find the Golden Jaguar, get the boy, and live to tell the tale? Find out in this wondrous read, In Too Deep by Coert Voorhees.

Other books by Coert Voorhees:

Other books you may enjoy:

2/20/2014 by Library Ninja Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Teen Reviews

Teen Review by Christopher K...Hunger Games

This is a great book I would suggest for Junior High students. This book is about 24 tributes ages 12-18 that fight for their death to win The Hunger Games. The main characters are Katniss & Peeta the tributes that are chosen as the District 12 tributes to compete in The Hunger Games. They go through tough times in The Hunger Games like trying to forming some alliances with the other tributes to have a better chance of staying alive.

I really liked The Hunger Games because it is a good book that followed 24 brave tributes go to The Hunger Games because one of the districts rebelled against The Capitol (the monarch of the districts). My favorite character from this book was Rue because she went through a lot of bravery to survive in The Hunger Games. She formed an alliance with Katniss, and was the one of the youngest in The Hunger Games. My least favorite character was Marvel because he killed Rue,and was apart of the alliance in the arena that was trying to bring all of the other District tributes down

Other books in the series

Other books you may enjoy

2/17/2014 by Library Ninja Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Teen Reviews

Teen Review by Adriana O... The Amulet of Samarkand

Although at first it's kind of slow, the plot really gets to you quickly. Nathaniel is a 12 year old magicians apprentice that is basically another Artemis Fowl. His knowledge in magic has surpassed normal standards and he plans on getting revenge on a certain magician who embarrased him. He summoms a djinn(genie) named Bartimaeus who has a splendid sense of humor or possibly sarcasm (I'm not sure which)but either way, you'll love him. Bartimaeus the djinn is sent to steal a very important artifact from the wizard who embarrased Nathaniel and is now in a huge heap of trouble.

This is a heads up to understanding the book. The chapters are switched around telling the story from different points of views(Bartimaeus and Nathaniels views)so pay attention to small details to keep from going in a wait...what just happened mode. It's great for the fiction, adventure, magic and comedy lover. You don't have to love all these genres to like, no love, this book and it's great for ages 11 and up(possibly 10 year olds too) Why are you still here? Go read it man! I probably did'nt give this book as good as a review as it could have, but that's because it has to many good parts to write in here.

Other books you may enjoy

2/13/2014 by Library Ninja Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Teen Reviews

Teen Review by Christopher K... Stolen Children

For me this book was a great read I really enjoyed all of the action of Amy & Kendra. Peg Kehret is a great book writer and action suspense kind of author. I read this book for one reason. Because I had to for school. I thought oh this is going to be a stupid book but it really is not. This book travels with Amy & Kendra like you are in the book with them telling them not to fall asleep or run away from their captives, My best part was when they were using secret signals for the mom & police to see. This kids were not that stupid.

Other books you may enjoy:

2/6/2014 by Library Ninja Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Teen Reviews

Teen Review by Emily B... Erebos

Erebos, by Ursula Poznanski, may, at first, seem like a simple story, but will rapidly grab hold of you and drag you into its thrilling recount of the increasingly strange behavior at a local high school, and the addictive computer game that seems to be alive in the real world.

While attending his local high school, Nick Dunmore begins to notice strange behavior in an increasingly large number of students, including his best friend. At the same time, a cd-rom of unknown origins and content is spotted making the rounds among the students, but only to one person at a time, and always very secretly and furtively. In time, Nick is offered one of the mysterious cds under curious conditions, and is given cryptic instructions as to its use. Once the cd is inserted into his computer, his world turns topsy-turvy. When death-threats and "accidents" begin occurring regularly at the school, it is up to Nick and his friends to uncover the origins of the game, and its true, devious purpose.

Ursula Poznanski's simple language and story-telling makes the story flow easy to read, and easy to follow. And yet, she manages to incorporate subtle, cunning hints at the answers to the reader's many questions, crafty plot twists, clever use of ancient mythology, moments of laughter, and poignant moments of genuine fear.

I would highly recommend "Erebos" to anyone looking for a good read that will keep you up late, (I stayed up till 4 am), a fun "thriller" genre book, or just a really good, captivating read!
 

Other books you may enjoy:

2/3/2014 by Library Ninja Add a Comment Share this:
Topics: Teen Reviews